Book stuff

So I’ve been decluttering my bookshelf and ALL the books in ALL the hidden boxes in my house.

I was about to distribute them (the ones that I’m done reading) and then I decided to list them on a spreadsheet and add a mini review on goodreads.

I noticed a pattern with the books that I read.

I am actually a rather serious reader.

I tend to go for books that force me out of my comfort zone.  Books that make me think and wonder what I would do if I was in that same situation. Books that challenge stereotypes. Books that make me ponder the subject matter for a long, long time after I’ve finished reading. Books that force me to confront and deal with my own prejudices, prejudices that I sometimes didn’t even realise were present.

I tend to go for books that explore relationship dynamics – something which ALWAYS fascinates me.

When I speak of relationship dynamics, then I refer specifically to Mother-Child relationships, friendships, Father-son/daughter relationships, relationships between siblings.

Interestingly enough, I’m not too concerned with girl/boy relationships but I do enjoy reading about husband/wife – marital relationships. I enjoy watching the relationship develop. I love trying to figure out where it all went wrong. I enjoy seeing the beauty of the relationship. I enjoy reading about and pondering the intimacy of relationships – specifically EMOTIONAL INTIMACY.

I am currently reading The 40 Rules of Love which I’m rather enjoying and I’m doing a NF at the same time. Also something unheard of for me btw – I always read one book at a time but I find that certain parts of the NF stuff needs to be mulled over before you can actually read any further.

The book that I read before this was A Million Miles from Normal. I don’t want to say what I thought about it, just now the author reads this . Before that, I read A Short History of Tractors in Ukranian which I found incredibly funny and sad at the same time –  also about relationship dynamics between a father and his daughters after their Mother dies. And before that I read Committed

I definitely go through reading phases. I went through my chick lit phase and there was a time when I was reading all these murder mystery stories and thrillers. Then I was into legal drama-type novels, I went through a smallish vampire phase with Twilight (haven’t read anything else vampire btw…). I went through a Jody Picoult phase and I suspect I’m going to go back there because I haven’t read her in a few years. THAT is the sort of emotional dynamics that I love reading about.

I also went through a phase where I was reading all these books set in India – think Q&A, Madras on rainy days, Shantaram etc.  Btw…I LOVED Shantaram. Let me know if you want it? Am not quite sure who to give it to. I must warn you though, it is LONG!  I do tend to go back and forth in the phases.

What kind of books do you go for? What are you currently reading? Do you go through phases with specific authors, genres etc?

Ps…I am on the verge of ordering a Kindle, I just need to finalise one or two minor details. I’ve started making a list of books to order once I have kindle. This is what I have on so far:

We need to talk about Kevin – Lionel Shriver.

House Rules – Jody Picoult

Handle with care – Jody Picoult.

My year of Meats – Ruth L Ozeki

The secret life of bees – Sue Monk Kidd

The Glass Castle – Jeannette Walls

Th Karma Suture – Rosamund Kendal

When God was a rabbit – Sarah Winman

The Slap – Christos Tsiolkas

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother – Amy Chua

MWF seeking BFF – Rachel Bertsche

Do you get the idea  of what I enjoy reading?

These are on my wish list for now but PLEASE suggest some good ones for me?

16 thoughts on “Book stuff

  1. I’m a far less serious reader than you, or I should say I’m not a consistently serious reader. My preferred genres are thrillers and action adventures. I can only read Jodi Piccoult occassionally – the subject matter very heart-wrenching for me. Read Committed at Easter and loved it – it actually taught me a lot about myself.

    1. I haven’t read a nice thriller in a while. Do you have any recommendations? Who are your favourite authors for this genre?

      1. There are so many: Vince Flynn, Barry Eisler, Lee Child, Deon Meyer (excellent!), Karen Rose, Matthew Palmer, Thomas Perry, Jeffrey Deaver, Sandra Brown, Robert Crais, Jo Nesbo, John Grisham, Jonathan Sandford, etc. I’m always looking for more!

  2. I also go through genre phases. Love Jodi’s character perspectives and have just finished Sing You Home. She always leaves you with more than one side of the story to ponder over. I have Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and House Rules if you want to borrow them. (They are at the other house) I might even have Handle with Care – I can’t remember if I borrowed a copy or have it.

    Just started reading The Sense of an Ending – Julian Barnes, which my mom recommended and Hunger Games. Only a few pages in on both so will let you know if either are worth adding to your list.

    I also love Philippa Gregory’s historical novels. I see she has a new one out – The Lady of the Rivers. That’s on my Kindle Wish list for when I’m finished the current two.

    1. I think that you and I have very similar reading taste. That is EXACTLY why I love Jodi. She makes sure that you get into each characters head and there is so much pondering afterwards. Of course I want to borrow them! As soon as you are settled and can manage it. OK? I actually forgot to add the Hunger Games to my Kindle List. Am going to have a look for Phillipa Gregory.

  3. Im a Non Fiction Reader…cannot remember when last I read a fiction book. (i think it was the clan of the Cave Bear series)….Having said that I have not read in months. I am off to the library on Saturday to renew my card and start weekly trips there…so I will keep you updated on my reads.

    1. I am actually very bad with reading NF but I am trying to more regularly incorporate it into my reading list. I quite like the one I’m reading now and it does help that it’s not too long.

      Let me know what you got from the library OK?

  4. Lol I haven’t read any of your books except MWF seeking BFF and the secret life of bees. I enjoyed but not terribly so.

    I usually like happy stories, my life had/ has enough pain! Lol

    1. Haha..None of the books that I mention are what I would call “sad” stories. They are basically just real-life stories that make you think. However, I do understand your point.

      I LOVED the Secret Life of Bees movie which is a sign that I am going to enjoy the book VERY MUCH.

  5. We have very similar reading tastes! I am busy reading The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks. It is coming out as a movie soon and I have to read the book first! (i know it works in reverse for you tho ;-) Have you read The Kite Runner, sure you must have? I will check my Kindle list and let you know….my all time fav read so far was The Glass Castle. Just remarkable and embodies all the elements relationally which you love!

    1. I HAVE read The Kite Runner and I loved it. I actually don’t think that I’ve read a Nicholas Sparks before. Will google him.

  6. I like fiction and non fiction both. I just finished that MWF one. It’s not one of my favourites but I did get some powerful messages from it. I’ve read House Rules…it’s one of her good ones…not quite my sister’s keeper but still good. Kite runner was great! I also have we need to talk about Kevin on my wishlist but I’ve heard it’s good. Some fiction I’ve enjoyed: Clan of the cave bear series, anything Eddings, if you haven’t read Atlas shrugged you have to find s copy and soldier on through it. NF that I enjoyed was Boundaries face to face conftontations, I also have loads if books that teach something like reflexiology, how to grow a bonsai, uses for herbs, nlp and so on.

  7. I think you need to move to Pretoria and be in our bookclub. Your list reads like a list of the club with most books in it or have been in it. Send me your postal addy and I will post Karma suture to you – great book but will not read it again. I will gladly send it on to you. And you have to read the Glass Castle – my favorite from last year with the Book Thief.

Leave a Reply

