Your body is a temple, but only if you treat it as one. ~Astrid Alauda

This week I am grateful for the fact that I can feel and move every single part of my body.

After not doing much exercise for the past few years, I started with a hectic running programme about 2 weeks ago. It has been incredibly hard and while I am not at the point yet where I can say that it is rewarding, I am extremely grateful for the ability to move every single muscle and feel every single ache and pain.

My body works really well, yet I barely even notice it.

I am certainly not aware of every breath that I take.

I am certainly not aware of the fact that something as simple as sneezing or coughing or chewing gum or typing this post is happening because of a multitude of reflexes and messages in my brain being sent to the various muscles and nerves that need to work to carry out these tasks.

I am certainly not aware of the fact that me being able to sit and stand and lie down and open my eyes and blink and rub my nose and get up in the morning is as a result of my brain and muscle neurons working together.

I have thought about this all week and I find it to be a problem.

I find it problematic that  I take things like walking, talking, running, moving for granted.

I find it problematic that my body works very, very hard for me ALL THE TIME and yet I don’t look after her the way I should.

I take her energy and her strength for granted.

I abuse and punish her periodically.

I curse her when I need to buy new clothing and I end up having to look in a mirror.

I get angry with her when she is sick and doesn’t perform optimally. I become impatient that I need to rest her when I have so much work to do. How dare she and her germs and her low immune system interfere with my life? Why can’t she do what I need her to do at this very minute?

Yet, she works extremely hard for me and has practically been a star performer up to now. She has carried my unborn children. She has birthed my children. She has fed them as newborns. She has breathed in their little baby scents. She is able to hug and touch them and hold them and rock them.  She is able to nurture and comfort. She is able to do so much more than I give her credit for.

I recently started to read this blog. Tracy is navigating her life as a quadriplegic after breaking her neck in an accident a few years ago. She writes in a way that deeply moves me, and EVERY SINGLE TIME  I read a post of hers I am in awe. In awe of her words. In awe of her mind. In awe of her resilience and her strength. In awe of her spirit. In awe of her ability to put so much into perspective. In awe of my body which I treat so badly at times.

Today I am grateful for my body and the fact that she is in perfect working order.

I am grateful for opportunities where I am provided with a new awareness of how fabulous she really is.

I am grateful for second chances with her in areas where I have failed her in the past.

I am grateful for new opportunities with her.

I am grateful for the chance to respect her, to nurture her, to exercise her, to hydrate her, to rest her when necessary and to feed her wholesome and healthy foods that will help her perform even more optimally.

She is a fine young thing and she serves me well.

I am grateful for the chance to love her. Warts and all.

Today I am grateful for my temple.

My contribution to Maxabella Loves.

18 thoughts on “Your body is a temple, but only if you treat it as one. ~Astrid Alauda

  1. Great post my friend…we take these things for granted our abilities, our senses and so much else. Then one day something happens and we get a wake up call and only then do we become grateful. When my DS lost his sight last year it really shocked our whole family into realizing just how precious the things we take for granted it. After a few months his vision was restored and we rejoiced. We realize that we need to count our blessings every day.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    xx

    1. Sjoe. I cannot even begin to imagine what your DS went through when he list his sight. How wonderful that he has been healed. Seriously. What a miracle!

  2. This is a really thoughtful post – i like the way you put things. I remember learning in biology about all the diseases of metabolism that exist and feeling overwhelmed with a sense of luck (and gratefulness) that I didn’t have one – indeed we are all lucky. And it’s important to be grateful for all that we have.
    have a lovely weekend! x

  3. Wow, Tracy’s story must be so inspirational and grounding. I treat my body more like a playground than a temple, but I am trying to do better. To be honest, the playground probably suits me more than a place of worship anyway… but I am still going to do more ladder climbing than slippery-dips!! x

    1. Tracy’s story is absolutely moving. Please read it when you have a chance. I actually like your playground analogy. Guess we both need to ease up on the slippery dips!

  4. You know, we take every one of our moving parts for granted. Most days we might bump into something, but never do we say, thanks for our elbows, our fingers, our everything! So, thanks for your perspective and for letting us know about Tracy. xx

    1. You are welcome. I have learned a lot about my body and how poorly I view it since reading your blog. Thank you for the love.

  5. This post is so relevant to me right now!! I am waiting for the go-ahead from my Dr that I can start excerising again – I really cant wait. I have neglected my body for too long!

    1. Well, I don’t think that you neglected your body per se. She has worked really hard lately with growing a baby. Just ease into it slowly seeing that it’s been a while…

  6. Atter telling me about Tracy, I am very grateful for my body too. I used to body build (competitive) then got into marathoning (seriously). However I have exercise enduced migraines so have been reduced to wimpy exercising. I hate it so don’t do anything much. But after readying your post, I need to do it anyway!

  7. Beautiful post, my friend!

    After infertility I don’t take my body for granted anymore. I realised very quickly how every little function is a miracle. Do you know that even with the hormone levels, if one is a little too high, it inhibits the production of the second one? And both need to literally be perfect for that baby to arrive?

    WOW. God is amazing!

    But yes, I need to pay more attention to what I stuff into it, esp since I intend to go back to WL this weekend after about 6 weeks and 0.8 up. Let’s see what I can do by the time my bday rolls around. :)

    1. Gosh, I had no idea about that. I must say that I do take my fertility for granted as well. I suspect we all just assume that it can and will happen, until we are in a situation where it doesn’t happen naturally. I cannot even begin to imagine what infertility must be like. (hugs).x

Leave a Reply

